Letting Go – Delegating Responsibility as your Startup Scales

English: growth chart of MBND

Image via Wikipedia

Its day two at SMX West and I am not there. The first two years working at Zemanta, I attended almost every search and SEO conference across the country. Necessary, as I was the only US employee at the time. It was exhausting, fun, and most importantly, effective. We introduced our brand, made connections, and new friends. The result, we built our business (yes!). But, this also means that I now have to balance travel with the needs of our clients.

I still travel quite a bit, but there are times when I don’t go and I feel like I am missing an opportunity. It was, after all, the relationships I made attending conferences, that helped scale our business. Luckily, we added some tremendously talented individuals to our team in 2011. The hard part for me is to let go of responsibility, even when i fully believe in the team we built. I want to do everything. But, you cannot scale your start up if you don’t delegate responsibility to the team you built. You will also burn yourself out trying.

We have an awesome team at Zemanta and we are going to add to it. I have to remind myself now and again to let go and let the team do what I know they are capable of doing.

Day Two: Search Marketing Expo West 2012 Live Blog Recap

Related Topics: SEM Industry: Conferences About The Author: Barry Schwartz is Search Engine Land’s News Editor and owns RustyBrick , a NY based web consulting firm. He also runs Search Engine Roundtable , a popular search blog on very advanced SEM topics. Barry’s personal blog is named Cartoon Barry and he can be followed on Twitter here .

We need this to understand how you use our service - you can take it out if you like. Cheers, your Blogspire team.

via: searchengineland.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Letting Go – Delegating Responsibility as your Startup Scales

  1. Well said Greg. Delegation is hard because it entails letting go and trusting others to do what you can do very well. Never easy! However, it is the only way to grow. Great leaders cultivate talent by delegating and mentoring. I am glad your company has grown to this level and sure you guys will do very well. All the best!

Leave a Reply

